Week 9 – GTD – Getting Things Done – Part 1

“Day 092/366 – To Do List” by Great Beyond is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Your toughest work is defining what your work is! –  Peter Drucker

SUMMARY

  • This week was pretty good overall. School stressed me out a little bit in terms of trying to get all my assignment in on time but it wasn’t as bad as it has been. Dance team has me pretty stressed though in regards to all the routines we have to remember and makes me pretty tired after practices, which doesn’t help to motivate me with school.

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image of David Allen at TED Talk
Screenshot from David Allen TED Talk

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

In this ‘room’ you are going to try Getting Things Done (GTD).

STEP 1: MAKE A LIST

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  • Film – this blog post
  • World History – lecture #1 and #2 notes and textbook questions due
  • Geometry – 1.6 ready set go due and a symmetry assignment due
  • French – french notes and que tu assignment due
  • English – Tempest workbook questions and annotation of Act 2
  • Biology – keystone species due, research due, and human impacts due

STEP 2: NOTICE WHAT YOU NOTICED

Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
Screenshot of David Allen TED Talk
  1. Biology
  2. Geometry
  3. French
  4. Film
  5. World History
  6. English

STEP 3: SET A TIMER

https://giphy.com/gifs/time-clock-konczakowski-d3yxg15kJppJilnW

OUTSIDE (PRODUCTIVITY & THE BRAIN)

David Allen image
Oct. 2020 Lucidchart interview with David Allen
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
Image from FastCompany Magazine, https://www.fastcompany.com/3026827/the-brain-hacks-top-founders-use-to-get-the-job-done
  • On my walk at first I had a lot on my mind regarding schoolwork and dance and even this blog I am working on right now. I was thinking about how it totally makes sense as I said before to reflect before you move on and do something. I’m not sure why but that was just kind of an eye opener for me.

OPTIONAL EXERCISE – Read the article and go for another walk 🙂

 Katia Verresen homepage
Katia Verresen, kvaleadership.com

“I coach C-suite executives and rising stars from the earliest startups to Fortune 100 companies. My passion is to help ambitious leaders achieve their full human potential.”  – Read more about Katia…

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • The biggest thing I took away was yet again the reflection thing. When you really think about it, you have to reflect before you move on because that’s what helps you really understand things. If you don’t understand what you’re doing there’s really no point in what you are about to do.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *