Film – Week 8 – Screenwriting

Hanna Screenwriter and Writing Grad Seth Lochhead Visits VFS

“Ali film script” by Zadi Diaz is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

“You can’t fix a bad script after you start shooting. The problems on the page only get bigger as they move to the big screen.” – Howard Hawks

SUMMARY

  • This one was pretty interesting to write about, I’ve always been interested in screenwriting. Although it was a little difficult to get everything I wanted down in the set amount of times. Other than that it was good 🙂
  • I did learn a lot from this section though, about some of the history from when film first began, and how it has developed all leading up to today’s versions of it!

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from sneakonthelot.com/my-courses/
  • I wasn’t able to finish all of this section because I ran out of time. I took a few notes from the first ones, and read it through a few times because I spaced out and didn’t quite remember all the information it was saying but I think I got it now.

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • Often times I find myself wanting more out of my life. Lately it feels like everything’s being blurred together because in one way, the same things are happening every day, like a repeating cycle. But on the other hand, it’s different every day, just not in the way I want it to be.
  • I wake up for school, go to my classes, finish my homework, do some chores, go on my phone, go to dance practice, and them go to bed. Every day feels the same. I want something different from it. I don’t want to look back at my sophomore year of high school and only be able to think if 2-3 core memories I have from it. Which I know is asking a lot because of everything going on in the world right now but it’s still what I think about. Almost as if I’m stressing about the time I have left because we only have 2 more years before we move onto different parts of our lives and have to start taking more responsibility for ourselves. I guess what I’m trying to say is it feels like we’re running out of time.
  • Another thing is how I feel really disconnected from everyone. I have my phone on me all day yet I barely talk to people. I’m not sure why, because all I really have to do is type out a quick text to talk to them but I miss seeing everyone at school. I’m a really social person so I personally love being around people and seeing them on a day to day basis. Feels like everyone right now is mentally drained from just everything.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Right after a car crash
  • Girl battles eating disorder at a thanksgiving dinner
  • Reading old love notes from past lovers
  • Watching the asteroid about to hit Earth
  • Driving home from the hospital
  • Stepping outside after the first date
  • Listening to an old song that has a memory attached to it

STUDIO (FILMING)

  • Yes, I thought it was interesting to see other people’s mindsets and opinions on all of it.

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • I learned a lot about the history portion of film and cinematography. I think it was interesting that the whole idea of different people’s perceptions of how a horse gallops is what sort of started the evolution of film making and that’s where it all grew from.
  • Problem solving wise I had to come up with something from scratch for dance practice today. We had to wear Halloween costumes and dress up for it, when I originally planned on not doing a costume this year. But I came up with the idea of cupids evil twin and made a costume from a few things from Party City and what I had from home.

WEEKLY ACTIVITY EVALUATION

  • I really liked this weeks activity, especially the writing parts where I got to write things from my perspective.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *